0Day Forums
Passing data between view controllers - Printable Version

+- 0Day Forums (https://0day.red)
+-- Forum: Coding (https://0day.red/Forum-Coding)
+--- Forum: Swift (https://0day.red/Forum-Swift)
+--- Thread: Passing data between view controllers (/Thread-Passing-data-between-view-controllers)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5

Passing data between view controllers - mediatory818 - 07-18-2023

I'm new to iOS and Objective-C and the whole [MVC][1] paradigm and I'm stuck with the following:

I have a view that acts as a data entry form and I want to give the user the option to select multiple products. The products are listed on another view with a `UITableViewController` and I have enabled multiple selections.

How do I transfer the data from one view to another? I will be holding the selections on the `UITableView` in an array, but how do I then pass that back to the previous data entry form view so it can be saved along with the other data to Core Data on submission of the form?

I have surfed around and seen some people declare an array in the app delegate. I read something about [singletons][2], but I don't understand what these are and I read something about creating a data model.

What would be the correct way of performing this and how would I go about it?

[1]:

[To see links please register here]

[2]:

RE: Passing data between view controllers - homocoelous459492 - 07-18-2023

The OP didn't mention view controllers but so many of the answers do, that I wanted to chime in with what some of the new features of the LLVM allow to make this easier when wanting to pass data from one view controller to another and then getting some results back.

Storyboard segues, ARC and LLVM blocks make this easier than ever for me. Some answers above mentioned storyboards and segues already but still relied on delegation. Defining delegates certainly works but some people may find it easier to pass pointers or code blocks.