Create an account

Very important

• To access the important data of the forums, you must be active in each forum and especially in the leaks and database leaks section, send data and after sending the data and activity, data and important content will be opened and visible for you.
  • You will only see chat messages from people who are at or below your level.
  • More than 500,000 database leaks and millions of account leaks are waiting for you, so access and view with more activity.
  • Many important data are inactive and inaccessible for you, so open them with activity. (This will be done automatically)

Thread Rating:
  • 498 Vote(s) - 3.47 Average
How to reflect in the database a new belongs_to and has_many relationship in Ruby on Rails

I am new to rails (usually a python guy) and have just been trying to build a simple task manager application for fun. I am using Devise for authentication and have a single Task object I am trying to relate to a user. I have added the following to the Task model:

class Task < ActiveRecord::Base
belongs_to :user
end

and I have added the following in my User model for Devise:

class User < ActiveRecord::Base
has_many :tasks

<<normal Devise stuff>>
end

Whenever I added this information I then ran: rake db:migrate. It then gave me an error that the database field did not exist for user_id when I tried to do anything with it.

I am sure it is something rather simple that I am missing. Thanks for the help.

Adding a `belongs_to` (or any other) relationship to your model only tells active record that models are linked logically. This gives you access to methods like `task.user`. For this to actually work, the instances must be linked via database fields.

This is the step you're missing: you need to create a migration that will add a column to the Task table indicating which user it belongs to.

rails g migration AddUserIdToTasks user_id:integer